163 – No Pennies, Xmas, and Drawcember

So. In my last post I mentioned that a craft featuring pennies was forthcoming.

Nope.

Basically…pennies are A PAIN IN THE BUTTOCKS. I tried to clean my dang pennies so many flipping times and basically a small handful look shiny and beautiful and the rest are blue so. Yeah. Maybe I’ll try something again another time but for now UGH.

Instead of doing a penny craft though, I made a Nativity painting. I am ever on two quests: The first it to create a stylized Nativity that I can perhaps one day make into a print. The second is to actually purchase a Nativity, either a modern minimalist version, or a very classic old fashioned one. Anyways, I managed to paint something this year that I’m really pleased with!

15267829_10157726021925184_5650840293118440367_n

It’s simple, and (I think) pretty. I hope to expand upon this idea as time goes on. Perhaps in time for next Christmas I will have it refined enough to make prints.

And…like…it’s almost Christmas. Every year it creeps up SO FAST and every year I’m surprised by that for some reason. When I was a kid it seemed to drag, but that was probably due to school and my parents being insanely busy doing Christmas hampers and kettles and all that.

Our shopping is almost complete. I’m really excited because we did a lot of it online which meant avoiding those stinky crowds. I’ve hit the mall a few times over the past few weeks and it’s been ok, but when you’re still limping a bit in a space congested with people (who all seem to be oblivious to the fact that there are other people around them), it’s not so much fun.

Speaking of limping…my ankle is doing GREAT. I have my final physio tomorrow and so long as that goes well I AM DONE WITH THE DOCTORS. What a long, strange trip it’s been.

Anyways. Christmas. We leave on the 23rd to see my parents and I’m very excited. This will be the first year that my sister’s fiance is there also, so it’s going to be a fun crowd all packed into their house. I’m not super thrilled to be crammed on a double bed with Bryan, but at least I love him so snuggling won’t be the worst thing. We’re going to be hauling a full car out there, and I’m really praying that the roads are clear. We’ll leave as early as we can stand to in the hopes of making it to town before dark, but I’m not holding my breath on anything. Fortunately my parents live really close to the edge of the city, so we won’t have to traverse downtown Winnipeg after a long day of wind and snow on the prairie highways.

Back in October I participated in Inktober. This month, I decided to tackle Drawcember. Here’s what I’ve done so far!

I’m really enjoying this exercise in developing a particular style. Also snowflakes are a pain to draw over and over. I don’t even bother trying to get creative with the design of them. Also I’m rapidly running out of paper. Also also! I have sold 2 of these already which is so encouraging.

ANYHOOOOOO. That’s it for today. See ya!

 

Leave a Reply

