169 – Foods

I’m REALLY into cooking lately. Like…crazy about it. I’m not the best cook, but I am getting to be pretty good and I’m finding that my instincts are developing well. I like to make comforting, savoury food. Here are some pics from the past week or so!

Roast Chicken

This is one of my very favourite things to make! I can typically get pretty moist meat and a fairly crispy skin which I’m really proud of (though I don’t personally enjoy eating the skin). Usually I do a Chalet sauce packet with this meal, but occasionally I do up a nice rich gravy.

16128816_10157983003455184_1534385315_n

Tomato and Rice

This is a classic that I’ve been preparing for Bryan’s lunches for a few years now. It’s just a can of tomato soup, 2/3 can of rice, 1 can of water, and then I season it until it’s super delicious – usually red pepper and garlic flavours. I actually worked for about a year to train myself to like this too, as it’s not something I would normally eat. Plain potato chips are the best for dipping into this soup.

16144358_10157983003255184_2028315131_n

Eggs and Bacon and Hashbrowns

Bryan’s plate is on the left, with toast and cheese and fried eggs. I prefer my eggs scrambled, so that’s my plate there on the right. I added onions, serano pepper, and corn to the hashbrowns and it was AMAAAZING. I also have recently begun to exclusively cook my bacon in the oven, and it has made the bacon more consistently crispy as well easier to clean up after.

Hashbrown Casserole

This takes 1 can of cream of broccoli soup, chopped broc and cauliflower, corn, lots of cheese, hashbrowns, and milk or cream (I used both so as to use up the last of my cream). It’s a hearty, yummy meal that I really like to eat on a cold day.

Hash

A 3rd hashbrown dish. Normally we don’t eat those so often (and these pictures are posted in the order we ate things), but I’ve just been craving them lately. This hash consisted of hashbrowns (obvi), red pepper, onion, seranos, and corn. Just a teensy bit spicy. Yum.

16176996_10157983003185184_761597349_n

Chicken Fajitas

This is a crowd favourite over here. We all could just eat about 40 of these each. I love everything about this meal. I love the prep because I really enjoy chopping things, and I love the eating because OH MY GAWSH delicious.

16144529_10157983003090184_877358886_n

Leave a Reply

